The Little Betty Top Pattern Tour

I’m soooo excited to be a part of the Little Betty Top Blog Tour! And it’s my turn today!

Bettytour05e

The Little Betty Top is Suz(Sewpony Vintage)‘s newest pattern and she’s been having a blog tour with her testers and some awesome bloggers.

It is a pattern for the knit fabric which features two rows of ruffles on the top part of the bodice. It includes three sleeves options, sleeveless, short and long. How versatile!

I was so lucky enough to test this pattern and even join the blog tour. I made sleeveless version for my older girl for the test and loved it, but this time, I made long sleeve version for my little one.

Since It is winter here right now and it has been cold this year, I planned to make long sleeve version for A, my older one. But I needed to change the plan because I used Daddy’s t-shirt for the main fabric, I didn’t have enough yardage to make one for A. Inseatd, I had enough to make one for T. (A is 5 yrs old and T is 2 yrs old.)

So, this mint green soft knit fabric was Daddy’s t-shirt. And since I’ve been addicted to paiting and stamping fabric recently (like this and this), I hand-printed these gold hearts on it.

It was super easy. I just cut a heart shape on cardstock, put it on the fabric (aka daddy’s t-shirt) and applied gold fabric paint on it (if you want to know more about it, please refer to the tutorials like this and this).

Super easy. But in case you want to try, I don’t recommend to use a cardstock. It wasn’t hard enough. It became wet and soft at the end and I couldn’t get a sharp shape of the heart. But well, I’m very satisfied with the result. Isn’t it cute?

Bettytour06

One thing I want to mention is I don’t have a serger. But I could make this top with no problem… well, at most. I’ve been using a ballpoint needle and a walking foot when sewing knits and they worked well this time. I had difficulty using a walking foot with some kind of knit fabric, which had texture, like a sweater knit. But this time I could handle this fabric well with my walking foot.

I used a stretch stich of my sewing machine to sew the seams which needed to stretch, like shoulder seams, armholes and when attaching a neckband, sleeve cuffs and a waistband. Other than them, I used a straight stitch as usual.

I topstiched a neckband with my twin needle and I liked the result.

Bettytour03

So. If you don’t have a serger, you can totally sew this top! 

The reason I wanted to make one for my older girl was T wasn’t so cooperative for a photoshoot. A can pose and even smile to the camera, but it is hard to get good pictures of 2 yrs old girl. You know it, right?

Bettytour07

So I needed a bottle filled with chocolate milk which was her FAVORITE. And I finally could have this smile.

Bettytour04e

Totally worth it 🙂

Bettytour08

Bettytour09

Thank you so much for stopping by! Make sure come back tomorrow to Sewpony for the last stops of this blog tour.  Tomorrow there will be Rachel from imagine gnats and Trine from groovybabyandmama. How gorgeous!? 

Little betty calendar corrected

This pattern comes in size 6 months to 8 yrs old. And it has three sleves options as I mentioned above. It is versatile and fun to customize pattern for sure! You can learn more about this pattern on the sewpony blog or purchase it at the sewpony Vintage shop! Suz is offering a discount when you type in BETTYTOUR1 for $1 AUD off the pattern (till Jan 21st)!

Thanks so much, Suz, for having me for the test and this blog tour! I can see more Little Betty Tops coming in to my girls’ wardrobe 🙂
 

One thought on “The Little Betty Top Pattern Tour

  1. […] I’ve been loving her style. I had made her Debbie’s birthday dress, Little Betty Tops (here and […]

Leave a Reply

