Waiting for Spring

Hey, folks living in the northern hemisphere. Don’t you think we are so done with snow and winter? I do. That’s why I made this outfit.

Josephine07e

I sewed this outfit for “Flip this pattern” on FrancesSuzanne. I have sewn along this series for some months, you can see my flips HERE, HERE, HERE and HERE. This month’s pattern is Josephine Dress and Blouse by Violet Field Thread. And I had pinned this pattern for a while. I finally decided to buy that pattern and made this outfit.

First, I was thinking about making only a spring jacket but ended up making a jacket and a dress. The jacket is made with thrifted linen dress as a fabric. I really liked this chic color and design, but I felt I needed some spring-y feel after finishing jacket.

Josephine01e

I used liberty of london fabric to add some spring-y touch to the jacket, for front and neck facing, cuff facings and pocket facings. I also used some bright green thread for the buttonholes and buttons to add more spring-y feel. But it wasn’t enough. I needed more spring-y touches. Some more bright colors..

Josephine02e

So I decided to make a dress with this bright fabric, which is also from liberty of london. I bought both of them at sale, of course. They are pricey but so soft and just beautiful.

Josephine04e

Some details about flipping…

For the jacket, I cut front and back body just around waist line and added square skirt pieces. I tucked skirt pieces instead of gathering. I used collar from original pattern but omitted gathering on the shoulder seams.

And added big pockets. Of course.

Josephine10e

For the dress, I omitted the collar, but used pintucks from original pattern. I cut the front and back body on lower waist line and added skirt pieces. I tucked skirt pieces again and also gathered little bit. I also changed the sleeves into short sleeves and gathered cuffs.

Josephine05e

I like whole outfit. Isn’t it perfectly spring-y?

Josephine06e

Josephine09e

Josephine08e

Happy Sewing!

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Waiting for Spring

  1. […] which was the leftover from this Sally Dress and also used a leftover liberty fabric (leftover from this dress) for the contrast […]

Leave a Reply

