Garden Party Collection from see kate sew

Kate from seekatesew just released her latest Spring/Summer women’s pattern collection, which was called “garden party collection”  Monday. Did you see them? If not, you SHOULD see them, now.

Okay. You saw them, and I had a great opportunity to test some of these patterns. The Callie Top and The Adelaide Top.

First up is the Adelaide Top. Kate explains this top like this,

“The ADELAIDE is a vintage inspired top with a modern flair. The yoked front and keyholed back make this top totally unique and perfect for summer! Add a ruffle and decorative buttons for wardrobe versatility.

The ADELAIDE has side darts in the front and an elastic and button closure in the back. A great pattern for intermediate sewers!”

And here is my version.

Image

I tried to copy Kate’s cute standing pose 🙂

I made XXS and it fitted well. I used Novella Rayon from Valori Wells (which seems like out of stock right now here) for the fabric.

adelaide04e

This was the first time to sew with rayon fabric for me. It was very soft but I could hardly handle it. And I love the result. It is soft and drapey.

adelaide05e

I thought this top might be too girly for me before started sewing, but it turned out great, I think. It can be very girly or not so girly depending your choice of fabric. Kate made this in Chambray and I love that look.

Next up is the Callie Top. Here is her explanation,

“The CALLIE ruffle top is a feminine summer top with ruffles over the shoulders and ruffle sleeves. Perfect for a summer party or date night!”

And here it is…

callie08e

For this, I used Little Folks voile from Anna Maria Horner.

callie06e

Again, I sewed XXS and the fit is great. This fabric is voile but not so soft it is kind of crisp. Next time, I want to sew this top with softer fabric.

callie07e

The pattern required 10 buttons on the back, but I didn’t have enough so I ended up sewing 8 buttons which was still a hard work for me who hates sewing buttons.

If you have experienced an oversea moving you might know, we already sent most of our stuff at the end of April. Because it takes about 50 days to arrive Japan from the US, we needed to ship them early.

I sent MOST of my fabrics, notions and yet-to-be-used serger. I’m still keeping my sewing machine but it will be packed and shipped next week. (Well, my hubby keeps saying, “It’s not time to sew new things, you know!?”)

So, I don’t have much notion collection and even I can’t drive a car because of my health issue, I just sewed up 8 buttons 🙂

callie04

I do love this top and will definitely wear during coming summer, in Japan!

Kate is offering discount codes for bundle deals. There are some patterns for knit too. They are all very cute.

Thank you for having me, Kate! And Happy Sewing!

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Garden Party Collection from see kate sew

  1. marisa says:

    Both are very cute, and the buttons go perfectly. Great job, especially considering you’ve sent most of your things to Japan! I bet you’ll keep sewing right up to the big move 🙂

    • Shino says:

      Thanks, marisa! Ooh, those buttons! That was a tough work, lol. I’m on “the last before moving” project right now but not sure this will be really “the last” one 🙂

  2. […] Shino of Nutta Sewing Adventure tested both the Adelaide^ and the Callie! (Below) […]

  3. […] Top is Adelaide top from See Kate Sew (blogged here). […]

Leave a Reply

