Super Easy Tee you can sew ONLY with a serger

easytee05e

I’m still in the middle of oversea moving, from the US to Japan. Well, now my family lives together in our own house, most of our stuff had arrived here and we started new life here in Japan already. BUT. But, my sewing machine had not arrived yet… (and some other stuff we were using just before we moved out, like trash boxes, towels, cooking tools, plates, cutleries etc..).

So, I finally started using my serger which I got last January or so for my early birthday present (my birthday is in February) and had never used yet.

I bought some books about sewing with a serger here in Japan, and made this super easy tee which could be sewn only with a serger.

easytee06e

Since I don’t have my sewing machine here yet, it needed to be sewable (is there such word?) only with a serger. This tee is SUPER easy, it was made with only 3 pieces, front body, back body and neck band.

easytee03e

The sleeve hem looks like this but it doesn’t required to add armband. I just folded the hem twice and serged the edge and opened up the seam. I have sewn some knit garments before (only with my regular sewing machine) but had never seen this technique. I don’t know how to call this finishing technique in English, someone had any idea? (and please ignore uneven under arm seam… 😦 )

easytee02e

This is how the hem of this tee looks. It is finished with same technique as the sleeve hem.

easytee01e

The neckline is finished attaching a neckband.

I made this tee twice already and this one is my second attempt. The first one was not good, uneven neckline, wavy hem… not so wearble, sorry to say. But this one is much better. I will wear this a lot. It is comfy and I like this kind of slouchy tees.

The fabric is from JoAnn which I bought when I went there for the last time in the US! And this was also found in the remnant rack 🙂

I found out that there were not so many things which can be sewn only with a serger. And I will have my sewing machine finally back next week or so. But I will use my serger from now on. It is so worth the money I spent to buy it.

easytee04e

Happy sewing!

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “Super Easy Tee you can sew ONLY with a serger

  1. kristin says:

    oh it looks very nice! i’m so glad you made it work with only your serger! i’ve never tried to hem that way but it looks really nice!

    • Shino says:

      Yay! But I still DO miss my regular sewing machine and my printer (I need to print some new patterns!!!). You can try this hemming this way, it’s easy-peasy!

  2. alisasibrova says:

    Congrats on relocation! And, love the color of the Tee! 🙂

  3. Teri says:

    I like that method of hemming with a serger! I’m going to have to try it some time 🙂

Leave a Reply

