Marigold Dress

You know this week is Selfish Sewing Week hosted by Imagine Gnats, right?

So this is what I made for myself lately (actually before this week.. ).

marigold04e

It’s Marigold Dress pattern from Pattern Anthology. Pattern Anthology’s newest collection, “8 Days A Week” is for women, it includes, Go To Knit Pants, Marigold Dress, Peplum and Skirt, McCartney Jacket and Neptune T-Shirt. Marigold Dress is designed by Melissa from Blank Slate Patterns.

Actually, I tested this pattern. I used floral double gauze fabric which I bought at Nippori Fabric District after coming back to Japan. It’s very soft and has a nice drape. I had never sewn garments for myself with double gauze fabric other than naniIro and was a bit worried about how it would turn out.

marigold02e

But as you see, it turned out great.

And of course, the pattern is great. It has long sleeve and cap sleeve version, also peplum top and only skirt version. I made it with cap sleeves ’cause it was not so cool then but I’m regretting it. I need to make long sleeve version. It looks so good.

marigold03e

During I was sewing this dress, I uploaded a snak peak pic of this on Instagram, just around buttonholes on the front bodice. I got some compliments about them. Actually, I messed up with the first one (the bottom one) and ripped it off 😦 Then, I tried to go slow and pulled the fabric a little bit. I could get better results on other buttonholes. Phew.

marigold06

Oh, and as you see from the pic above, this fabric’s wrong side has stripes. Cute, isn’t it?

I was dreaming sewing much more for Selfish Sewing Week but it didn’t happen. I went to the hospital twice, two different hospitals this week.. and got tired. I’m okay, but still a bit tired. And was busy opening my shop.

How was your Selfish Sewing Week? You sewed a lot?

Happy Sewing 🙂

marigold01e

 

 

Tagged , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Marigold Dress

  1. kristin says:

    it looks great! this seems like such a comfortable and easy dress to wear. especially in double gauze!

  2. The dress looks great indeed! Love the fabric… I’m adding this pattern to my “to do list after pregnancy” 🙂

  3. Sassy T says:

    Lovely! Just come across and very impressed with your creations. Would you mind me featuring any of your projects on SSB? I credit, link to your post and let you know when featured.
    https://facebook.com/sassysewingbees

  4. Sassy T says:

    I will, that’s the purpose of SSB, I also let you know when. Thanks.

  5. Oh Shino, this is so lovely. I am completely addicted to the idea of double sided fabrics at the, moment, and then I just bought the Pattern Anthology pack so you got me, hook, line and sinker with this post.
    you look beautiful! Hope you’re feeling better soon. P.S Your shop is looking like a real gem.

Leave a Reply

