KCW 14 October / Miffy Norah Dress

My little girl loves Miffy. In case you don’t know Miffy, she is a rabbit character who appears in the books written by Dick Bruna, a Holland illustrator.

miffy07

This doll is Miffy. And this is my little girl wearing her Miffy Dress.

When I knew the theme of this KCW, “storybook”, I decided to make a Miffy-like dress for my Miffy-loving girl. I searched for the appropriate pattern and  I looked into my fabric stash to find good orange fabric.

I decided to use Norah Dress pattern from Mouse House Creation, which I already had in my pattern stash and meant to make for a while. I wanted it to be a simple A-line dress with a peter pan collar. Though the collar of Norah Dress differ from ordinally peter pan collar, I thought this would make a great Miffy dress.

Another reason I chose this pattern was it could be made with knit fabrics. First, I was thinking about making it with bright orange linen I had in my stash, but for three years old girl, there wasn’t better fabric to make a dress than knits for everyday clothes.

miffy06

I used orange french terry knit which I bought at fabric district in Tokyo. It looks comfy and I do think this was the perfect fabric for this dress.

miffy05

I told her that this was ‘Miffy dress’ when I first showed this to her. She got so excited and when she took it off before taking a bath, she said to the dress, ‘Bye, Miffy’. 😉

miffy04

I shortened the length because I wanted it to be a bit above the knee length. And I attached an yellow fabric covered button on the front.

miffy03

I finished three garments during this Kids Clothes Week and am feeling very satisfied. Two Bimaas were a huge hit on my big one and she got ready for colder weather, and my little one was super happy with this Miffy dress.

Hope you had a good KCW. Happy sewing!

Tagged , ,

10 thoughts on “KCW 14 October / Miffy Norah Dress

  1. Marta says:

    So cute Shino! I am using the Norah to make a storybook dress too. I hope u can post about it tomorrow…

  2. This is so adorable! I love this dress it’s too sweet.

  3. marisa says:

    gorgeous, Shino! I love Miffy, and your dress is perfect!

  4. I love your creativity Shino – your Miffy inspired dress is perfect!!

  5. It’s perfectly Miffy! So cute!

  6. […] KCW. I changed my plan and decided to make it for this series. I ended up making two Bimaas and one Miffy inspired dress during […]

  7. […] A girl and her Fox 2. Miffy 3. Cardigans […]

Leave a Reply

