Pattern Parcel #7 Handbags / Evelyn Bag

I think I just posted about Pattern Parcel #6 only a few days ago.. and then again, another Pattern Parcel is coming and it’s all about Handbags!

Pattern Parcel #7: Choose your own price and support DonorsChoose. Win/win

I do think you already know about how Pattern Parcel works. If you know it already, just jump after ***** line and read all about MY experience with this Pattern Parcel.

Pattern Parcel #7 includes :
Barcelona Bag and Wallet by Pat Bravo
Butterfly Sling Purse by Emmaline Patterns
Evelyn handbag by ChrisW Designs
Midtown Messenger Bag by Betz White
Betty Bowler by Swoon Sewing Patterns
BONUS PATTERN: Daphne Bag by Clover & Violet

How Pattern Parcel Works:

Here at Perfect Pattern Parcel, we believe in supporting independent pattern designers. It’s our opinion that indie patterns are just, well, better than big box patterns, and we’re pretty sure our customers think so too. So, we allow customers to show their support in naming their own price for each Parcel.  We also encourage customers to allocate part of their Parcel price to the charity Donorschoose.org in order to help classrooms in need. Pattern Parcel donates all profits after expenses from Parcel sales to the charity as well. Its our goal to raise over $20,000 for Donors Choose this year.

Bonus Pattern:

Choose a price of $32 or greater for Parcel #6 and you will automatically also be sent the Bonus Pattern! That’s only $5 a pattern. The Bonus Pattern for this Parcel is the brand new Daphne Bag pattern from Clover & Violet. The Daphne is a slouchy satchel that can be worn cross body or as a shoulder bag. The zip top keeps your gear secure and the internal pockets keep your accessories where you need them. This is a brand new, never been seen before pattern and is an exclusive opportunity for Parcel #7 customers!

Pattern Parcel #7: Choose your own price and support DonorsChoose. Win/win

*********************************

I had made a few bags so far and I wanted to make another one, so I just jumped on to the train without thinking much. I chose the Evelyn pattern because I liked the shape of the bag, not because it seemed to be easy to sew for sure.

Just after starting this project, I thought, “What was I thinking???”. It was waaaaaaay too difficult, definitely the hardest project I had done so far, way beyond my sewing skill level and well, it was just so complicated.

I admit that, I am not a person to sew bags. I want the project to be finished sooner. I don’t like to spend too long time on one project. I want to sew as many clothes as possible in my free time. Yes, after all I’m not so patient. Ha.

BUT. Sometimes, I am tempted by the project which must need more time and concentration to finish. And this was the one.

pp7_02

It was hard and difficult but totally worth it. I AM IN LOVE WITH THIS BAG.

pp7_03

I’m gonna write down lessons learned from this experience.

1. Choose fabrics carefully.

Yes. This is the basic tip for sewing, but sometimes you just want to sew with some typical fabric, right? I just wanted to use this quilted knit fabric (from my shop) and it turned out great, but I was wrong choosing this fabric.

It doesn’t stretch much but it IS knit. Choosing knit fabric for the main fabric made this project three times more difficult, I think.

And also, this fabric is a bit too thick for this bag. The pattern includes 6mm (1/4″) seam allowances, but it was hard to keep that narrow seam allowances with this thick fabric. Mostly I sewed with 1cm seams.

pp7_04

2. Take time.

I knew that sewing bags takes more time than I thought from this experience, but totally forgot that (Mommy brain…). Definitely this shouldn’t be the last minute sewing project.

If I had more time and could take time, I could sew those topstitches more beautifully!

Okay. Enough said. Let’s just admire my newest bag!

pp7_05

I used this cotton canvas print from Kokka for the lining. This bag has two pockets inside, one is divided as you see in the pic above.

pp7_06

And one is zippered that can be used as a pocket from top opening (how neat!) you see on the right side in the pic above.

I couldn’t add rivets on the shoulder straps (I’ve never installed them yet) so if I had another chance to make this bag, I will do that.

Now I’m just happy that I can have a new bag which goes super well with my handmade clothes!

pp7_01e

Even though I was not quiet ready for making this bag, I could hardly finish after all. That’s just because the pattern was awesome. The instruction was easy to understand and well-written. And I loved small details like chinched side pockets and the center strap.

I haven’t seen someone made this bag for Pattern Parcel tour so far, but there will be the another brave sewer. Because there are so many talented sewers who sew along for the Pattern Parcel tour. Please visit some of these blogs and get inspired!
Friday, November 7

Stitched ||Sew Exhausted

Saturday, November 8

Made by Sara ||Oliver’s Fancy ||Strawberry Patch Ramblings

Sunday, November 9

from a box || Mia’s Creations || MOMENTS

Monday, November 10

owen’s olivia || While she was sleeping

Tuesday, November 11

Nutta || Radiant Home Studio || La Pantigana

Wednesday, November 12

Sew Fishsticks || Stacy Sews || Stitching Insane || GnomeAngel

Thursday, November 13

Needle and Ted || Patchouli Moon Studio || Sprouting JubeJube || The Crazy Tailor

Friday, November 14

Casa Crafty || A Jennuine Life || ‘So, Zo… What do you know?’

Saturday, November 15

Stitches by Laura || Rebekah Sews || Serger Pepper

Sunday, November 16

Blogs Like A Mother || Vicky Myers creations || Blossom Heart Quilts

Monday, November 17

Shanni Loves || So Sew Easy || GYCT Designs || Tiger In A Tornado

Tuesday, November 18

The Nosy Pepper || Keep Calm and Carrion || There & Back || Sewing Sober

Wednesday, November 19

Sew Like My Mom || Knot Sew Normal || Stacy Sews || sewVery

Thursday, November 20

Mimi’s Mom || Our Family Four || shades of BOLD || Modern Handcraft

Friday, November 21

Shawnta Sews || Lulu & Celeste || Amanda Rose || Robin’s Fabric Nest || House of Pinheiro

Happy Sewing!

Tagged , , , ,

15 thoughts on “Pattern Parcel #7 Handbags / Evelyn Bag

  1. Jenya says:

    Love the bag! it certainly looked like something requiring time and concentration, but was totally worth it by the look of things 🙂

  2. marisa says:

    Shino your bag is so beautiful! I really like the look of the quilted fabric, even if it was a pain to work with – and the inside is a lovely contrast.

  3. Holli Coats says:

    All that struggle was worth it- this bag is AWESOME! The back zip is perfect, the quilted fabric gives such a nice look (even if it was a total pain) and that lining is a total knockout! Beautiful work Shino!

  4. oneradianthome says:

    Really pretty! I love the lining. I just posted mine this morning. It was a time consuming, but satisfying project. My bag will be a gift, so I can’t wait to give it to that person!

  5. Daryl says:

    Your bag came out really nice. I made 2 Evelyn’s last year. I love this bag. I am posting for the Pattern Parcel on Thursday and have links to the 2 Evelyn’s that I made in the past, ig you want to take a peek.

  6. AWESOME job! Your persistence paid off! 🙂 LOVE IT! 🙂

  7. Froo & Boo says:

    Ooh, the grey quilted knit is so lovely as a purse!!

  8. […] KCW, I struggled with making a handbag and I was dreaming about sewing clothes in the midst of my […]

  9. […] had made Gardenia Dress (pattern from Cali Faye Collection) using this fabric and also made Evelyn bag with brown one. This fabric is soft but sturdy and beautiful. Grey was sold out soon but now in […]

Leave a Reply

